January Challenge – Day 1

I was feeling pretty good about myself as I tied up my shoe laces on the first day of the year. I headed to a local park with decent walking tracks, also a favourite spot for dogs, and noticed quite a few people out running/walking.

Well why should I be surprised that so many people thought it was a good way to start the new year. I knew I would feel far more motivated for the rest of the week if I started off well.

I had a healthy breakfast, followed by an average lunch (take away chips and fizzy drink), followed by an excellent dinner (home made chicken burgers). Being away from home helps me to make excuses for having bad food and feeling too lazy to cook. But I have a plan for next weekend, I’m doing a food shop before it starts and I’m going to have all of the meals planned out! That way there is no need to fall back on an easy quick meal 🙂

As for the running I’m starting out easy, I’ve been for a walk today and I plan on taking another one tomorrow. I might need to give myself a couple of rest days this week so that I don’t get bored or tired too early into my training.

Here is a copy of the beginners running schedule I’ll be referring to over the month:

 

The Schedule

  • Week 1 Run one min, walk 90 seconds. Repeat eight times. Do three times a week.
  • Week 2 Run two mins, walk one min. Repeat seven times. Do three times a week.
  • Week 3 Run three mins walk one mins. Repeat six times. Do three times a week.
  • Week 4 Run five mins, walk two mins. Repeat four times. Do three times a week.
  • Week 5 Run eight mins, walk two mins. Repeat three times. Do three times a week.
  • Week 6 Run 12 mins, walk one min. Repeat three times. Do three times a week.
  • Week 7 Run 15 mins, walk one min, Run fifteen mins. Do three times a week
  • Week 8 Run 30 mins continuously.

 

A few things I plan to keep in mind are things like; to allow a day between runs while I’m starting out; keep it slow when starting out – you should be able to hold a conversation while you run, respecting your body is the best route to progression; Don’t dordle, walk purposefully and be strict with my timing; I wont be afraid to repeat a week if I’m slow to progress, I’ve got a big job in front of me and I’m not going to overdo it; I will get there!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

