Finding the right fit and making changes

Good nutrition, more movement, better wellness. These things are all good things. But there isn’t currently much going on in those areas of my life at the moment.

I want to be able to get up each day and know I can immediately cross some of these things off my list. So that I can start the day right with the right mindset, fuel, and energy.

So I’m playing with the idea of a morning routine that is going to set me up for a great day, and help me be the person I know I am deep down. I know I need to be realistic, I’m not going to be able to fit everything into my mornings and suddenly be this different person. But slowly getting up earlier and small steps like that are going to be the way to shift my current habits.

What do I want to eventually fit into my mornings?

5 to 10 minutes Bathroom and herbal tea

10mins A shower

20mins Getting dressed and ready for work

45mins A decent walk, jog, run

20mins Breakfast

30mins of reading

30mins Writing a blog post

Total time – 2 hours and 45 minutes

 Idea

Wake up at 5 to get these things in each day. Going from getting up at 7am to 5am is no easy feat. Luckily I have chosen a great time of year to do this (Spring with Summer on the day – warm mornings make it easy to get out of bed!). I’ll take it one week at a time, getting up just 15 minutes earlier each week.

Schedule

Week 1 – wake up and get up at 6.45am (I will have 1 hour before I need to leave for work)
Week 2 – wake up and get up at 6.30am (1 hour and 15 mins)
Week 3 – wake up and get up at 6.15am (1 hour and 30 mins)
Week 4 – wake up and get up at 6.00am (1 hour and 45 mins)
Week 5 – wake up and get up at 5.45am (2 hours)
Week 6 – wake up and get up at 5.30am (2 hours and 15 mins)
Week 7 – wake up and get up at 5.15am (2 hour and 30 mins)
Week 8 – wake up and get up at 5.00am (I will have 2 hours and 45 minutes)

The First thing I’ll do is use the bathroom then have a cup of herbal tea to start digestion. If I’m at home I have to leave for work by 7.45am to get there on time. So in those first few weeks I’ll add my new routine in slowly, seeing that I already get up at 7 and manage to fit in getting ready, a shower, and breakfast, I need to focus on adding in the other things. It could be good to build some up, like the exercise and reading. I can start it as 10mins of one and then as I get up earlier I can add in the other and build more time into each as the weeks go by. This is starting to feel like a good plan to me!

So here is the basic plan.

Week 1 – wake up and get up at 6.45am: 5 to 10 minutes Bathroom and herbal tea, 10 mins shower, 20 mins Getting dressed and ready for work, 20 mins Breakfast. (total: 1 hour)

Week 2 – wake up and get up at 6.30am: 5 to 10 minutes Bathroom and herbal tea, 15 min walk, 10 min shower, 20 mins Getting dressed and ready for work, 20 mins Breakfast. (total: 1 hour 15 mins)

Week 3 – wake up and get up at 6.15am: 5 to 10 minutes Bathroom and herbal tea, 15 min walk, 10 min shower, 20 mins Getting dressed and ready for work, 20 mins Breakfast 15 mins reading. (total: 1 hour 30 mins)

Week 4 – wake up and get up at 6.00am: 5 to 10 minutes Bathroom and herbal tea, 30 min walk, 10 min shower, 20 mins Getting dressed and ready for work, 20 mins Breakfast, 15 mins reading. (total: 1 hour 45 mins)

Week 5 – wake up and get up at 5.45am: 5 to 10 minutes Bathroom and herbal tea, 30 min walk, 10 min shower, 20 mins Getting dressed and ready for work, 20 mins Breakfast, 30 mins reading. (total: 2 hours)

Week 6 – wake up and get up at 5.30am: 5 to 10 minutes Bathroom and herbal tea, 45 min walk, 10 min shower, 20 mins Getting dressed and ready for work, 20 mins Breakfast, 30 mins reading. (total: 2 hours and 15 minutes)

Week 7 – wake up and get up at 5.15am: 5 to 10 minutes Bathroom and herbal tea, 45 min walk, 15 min Blogging, 10 min shower, 20 mins Getting dressed and ready for work, 20 mins Breakfast, 30 mins reading. (total: 2 hours and 30 minutes)

Week 8 – wake up and get up at 5.00am: 5 to 10 minutes Bathroom and herbal tea, 45 min walk, 30 min Blogging, 10 min shower, 20 mins Getting dressed and ready for work, 20 mins Breakfast, 30 mins reading. (total: 2 hours and 45 minutes)

Ok so its a more detailed plan then I said, but nutting out the finer details can help keep me on track so that’s what I’ll do!

 

Leave a Reply

