I’ve discovered a key

Losing weight requires motivation, determination, and will power, as well as changes to eating, exercise, sleep, and stress-management habits. But what I never really think about is how important it is to be organised. It’s extraordinarily difficult to prep healthy food and get to the gym if you don’t have an organised schedule to fit it all in.

I pride myself on how organised I can be in my work, with my blog and my social life. My family all tease me about how organised I am, so you’d think I would have realised that creating a more orderly plan for my fitness and weightloss would make things happen more easily.

My trouble is that I feel like I do too much planning, I plan and plan and never start! I’m so focused on getting the plan perfect that I wont start it until its exactly how I want it. The I decide that planning is a waste of time so I don’t plan, and big surprise, nothing happens.

I’ve decided I need to plan it as if it were a project for my Boss. That she needs it ready for the week ahead and that it needs to be in the calendar and ready to go. There needs to be time for meal planning, shopping, food prep, and then routine exercise time (minimum of 30mins) each day. It doesn’t need to be perfect because she needs it now, it just needs to be doable.

See how a plan is more achievable when you think about it like this? If I were planning this for myself I would try and book things to the minute and that is just not realistic.

Alright, time to head out for my morning walk, like a boss.

 

Leave a Reply

